So I am currently in Mauritius on holidays. We arrived Sunday of last week and are leaving this Saturday for Reunion Island. The holidays have been going great so far. We are staying in an awesome hotel. The food is delicious and there are plenty of activities organised throughout the day including aquagym, fitness classes, karaoke etc. As it is located right on the beach one can also go out for snorkelling, parasailing, windsurfing, and other ocean-related sports.

Obviously for me the highlight of the holiday is the music. Four nights a week, a band called Danse Sensation plays at the bar until close to midnight. Last time I was in Mauritius, which was three years ago, they also played at this hotel and this was where I met them. We became friends in a way because they repeatedly invited me on the stage to sing with them. The experience was for obvious reasons truly unforgettable. I am shy and don’t think much of my singing. These people took me out of my comfort zone, but with such kindness and support, a confidence in myself evolved from the few evenings performing with them.

I was so excited to see them again and was surprised, in a way, that they all remembered me. I had kept a little in touch with the main singer through emails once or twice every year, and I had also become friends on FB with other members of the band.

So far I have performed every single time they have been playing at the hotel, which has ben five times since my arrival here. Again they are so kind and supportive, always giving me positive feedback about my performance, especially my singing. They even let me play songs solo, which is the first time I have ever done that. The singer gave my family chocolates for Valentine’s day, and the guitarist gave me his guitar pick. Meeting them has been a huge blessing and I will never forget how they made me feel.

They truly are such talented musicians, all of them, but what I admire most is their friendliness and their warmth – the way they have included me and made me feel a worthy member of their band, one who is always welcome, one who is appreciated and loved – how nice that is, when I am no one particularly special …

I hope to post videos of me singing one of these days as soon as I can get one off someone!!! 🙂

Share your thoughts ...

