rambling on about volunteering & caring

So, how is everyone? I’m feeling great! πŸ˜€ I really think that the most effective way for my soul to heal, is to spend a lot of time volunteering, and giving up my time for others – which is what I have been doing … pretty much all of this week.

Yesterday I went grocery shopping with my mum. Usually we go on Wednesdays and Sundays, but I was busy all of Wednesday. In the afternoon, I went volunteering at the care home near my place. It is always a worthwhile experience, even if the residents there sometimes make me feel a little awkward, for I don’t know how to best communicate with them (some are deaf – or almost; some seem lost in another planet etc). One man in particular has my interest, simply because I have been told he has my mother’s illness. I therefore pay close attention to him and try to familiarise myself with how he acts. His type of disease looks very similar to my mum’s, only more advanced I guess.

After this hour of volunteering, I went to the shops and got myself some bras! πŸ˜€ Hurray, lol. They actually made me feel sexy and I was laughing in front of the mirror in the cubicle whilst trying one of them on. So I’m happy about that. There is nothing like spoiling yourself every once in a while! But it was funny: I had some time to kill, so I walked around the shopping centre with my bag of bras, when I walked into my mother’s best friend’s son, who is about the sage age as XXX. He is a very friendly guy and obviously our families are very close. So we walked around together, he got a donut (even though I warned him, “donut have a donut!” lol).

Once this was over, I drove to another suburb for my second round of volunteering, this time with the Somali family. I usually go on Wednesdays, but not only was I busy yesterday, I also felt too sick and tired. As usual, I checked the little boy’s homework and they gave me dinner. I think in some post last week I mentioned how the father had been having issues with his mobile prepaid plan. Well, he has asked me to do research for him and find which prepaid plan would be the most suitable for him. Ah, I sort of cannot be bothered as I understand so little about phone plans, and I find the whole thing confusing – but I will do it, I guess. Have courage and be kind – that is what I live by! πŸ™‚

Today friends, I spent a few hours with my little child Cutie Pie! lol. My mentee, that is. I picked him up at 11.00am and we went to the bank to get his online banking set up. That didn’t take very long, so then we went to the golf course to have lunch. It was very fun, we talked a lot about our languages (he speaks Swiss-German, a bit of french, a bit of English). Once lunch was over, we went to a beautiful memorial park where you are always certain to see kangaroos. And after a 20min walking aroundΒ the park, we found them! πŸ˜€ There were about 20 of them, all huddled together! Cutie Pie was so happy!!! And I was so happy that Cutie Pie was happy! Obviously we were talking quite a bit whilst walking, and also in the car. Then we went to the lake, some 8kms away from my house or so, and then I took him to my home because my mum had actually asked me to (lol). So my mum was speaking to him in French, which is funny, considering he came to Australia to improve his English, and not his French. lol. So that was such a good little day! πŸ˜€ I’m supposed to be his mentor but obviously because of our negligible age difference, we are more like friends now already! To be honest, I don’t know if there’s supposed to be any difference …

WOOHOO I am so happy to have this new person in my life! πŸ˜€ Oh yeah, also he describes himself as a “weird, tall and helpful guy”. lol. Gosh he is cute and awesome :’) Sounds a bit like the male version of myself!

I’m already thinking what to give him for when he leaves us next year. Maybe I can make him a nice scrapbook of the things we do together (I love scrapbooking). Something meaningful =)

He is on a Rotary week-end camp thing so he’ll be busy until Sunday … and then Monday he starts school! I’m thinking of going to school Monday morning as a surprise to wish him good luck and give him a hug! πŸ˜€ When I decide to care for someone, I do it completely, and that translates to having crazy ideas most of the time!!!

Share your thoughts ...

